top of page

Spring Fling Kidlit Contest 2024

The kidlit universe is awe-inspiring and completely intimidating. I'm not letting that stop me. One of my 2024 goals was to enter 4 writing contests, and I'm well on my way. This post is my entry into the 2024 Spring Fling Kidlist Contest hosted by the amazing Kaitlyn Leann Sanchez and Ciara O'Neal.


This was the challenge: Find a .gif and write a spring-inspired story that's 150 words or under. The story should be geared towards kids ages 12 or under.


I spotted my GIF early on in my search. I was drawn to its subtlety, and it kept calling me even after pages and pages of searches. This story was inspired by the GIF and a little fairy house my children created in our backyard. It's an imagined interaction between sisters and has layered-in SEL themes like curiosity and adaptability.


MAYBE

150 words



Eve’s eyes twinkled as she set the last pink petal into my hand.

“Maybe our fairy house needs one more thing,” she said.

“Maybe the petals become the perfect rug underneath our twig chair,” I replied.

The wind stirred. The petals fluttered then flew.

“Wait!” Eve shouted. “My sister and I needed those!”

We grasped at the petals while they whirled in the wind. My mind swirled watching them soar away. I held my little sister as she shed tears.

“Maybe…” I whispered, “…a fairy faraway is waiting for pink petals for her tutu.”

“Maybe those petals were too plain for our house,” Eve said, pointing to a patch of multi-colored flowers.

Eve plucked new petals. I protected them, tightly cupping my hands together.

We beamed, sprinkling petals until the floor looked like a rainbow burst open.

“Maybe this is the best fairy house ever!” Eve said.

I smiled. “Definitely.”

--


Thank you for reading my entry and congratulations to all the brave budding writers who believed in themselves enough to take a chance. I think you're all incredible.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page